Have You Any News For Me? by J. J. Steinfeld

“Have You Any News for Me?” was first published in Crannóg (Ireland) (Issue 33, Summer 2013).

Have you any news for me?
I ask the nameless bird
recently returned from
reconnoitring the sins
of humankind.

Have you any news for me?
I ask the biblical scholar
waking from a dream
in which an unrecognizable god
wrote messages in invisible ink.

Have you any news for me?
I ask the fast-talking reporter
collecting distant stories
despite tonguelessness
and a missing heart.

Have you any news for me?
I ask a former teacher
leaving the classroom
erudite and wise
dead a decade now.

Have you any news for me?
I ask the mob surrounding me
summoned by sad events
fierce words and deaf stones
hurled at me in response.

Have you any news for me?
I ask my besieged self
speaking calmly yet absurdly
and before I can answer
the world ends again.


Canadian writer J. J. Steinfeld lives on Prince Edward Island, where he is patiently waiting for Godot’s arrival and a phone call from Kafka. While waiting, he has published seventeen books, including Disturbing Identities (Stories, Ekstasis Editions), Should the Word Hell Be Capitalized? (Stories, Gaspereau Press), Would You Hide Me? (Stories, Gaspereau Press), Misshapenness (Poetry, Ekstasis Editions), Identity Dreams and Memory Sounds (Poetry, Ekstasis Editions), Madhouses in Heaven, Castles in Hell (Stories, Ekstasis Editions), and An Unauthorized Biography of Being (110 Short Fictions Hovering Between the Absurd and the Existential, Ekstasis Editions).

Posted on December 21, 2016, in Issue 19: Speculative Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

