Size Doesn’t Matter, by Michael A. Kechula

She was magnificent.   All three inches of her.

A Martian?  I didn’t care.

She arrived when I was suicidal. Saved my life.

Daytimes, she sat on my shoulder, purring. Nights, she lay on my pillow, sighing.

Inseparable, love blossomed.

“Marry us,” I asked a priest. He refused because of our significant size differences.

I asked surgeons to downsize me.

“Make you teensy-weensie? Impossible!”

Then she disappeared.

Grieved, I found a note: “I’ve gone to Mars. There’s a new hormonal treatment.”

She returned 3 months later.

“It worked,” she said, trying to snuggle her ten-foot body next to my 5’6” frame.


Michael A. Kechula’s flash and micro-fiction tales have been published by 150 magazines and 50 anthologies in 8 countries. He’s won 1st prize in 12 writing contests and 2nd prize in 8 others. He’s authored 5 books of flash and micro-fiction tales, including a book that teaches how to write flash fiction. See his publisher’s site at: http://www.booksforabuck.com/ to read a free story or chapter in all of his books. 

 

Posted on June 28, 2015, in Issue 17: Drabble Stories—100 Word Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

