Date Night, by Dana Wright

“How late are your parents going to be out?” Jared whispered into my ear as his hand groped toward the edge of my shirt. I wiggled away and reached for the remote control to the TV.

“They should be home in about an hour, why?” I handed him the bowl of popcorn from the coffee table and moved a little bit over on the couch. Flipping the buttons on the remote until it hit the Horror Movie channel, I settled back against an overstuffed pillow and tried to stomp the growing irritation that was threatening to boil over. It had taken me weeks to arrange this date and everything was going wrong. Everything!

“Jared, can we please just watch the movie?” I growled.

His lips curved into a smirk. “Why? Am I rushing you?”

I scooted down to the other end of the couch and stared at him, annoyed at his assumption. He was supposed to be different. “What did you expect? That I was going to fling myself at you the moment my kid brother went to sleep?”

An unpleasant smile crossed over Jared’s face and I wondered what had possessed me to even consider this guy as date material. All he was was a football jersey with more notches in his belt than I could count.

“Haley. I can’t sleep. They’re outside again.” Christopher stumbled into the living room, bleary eyed.

I rolled my eyes and slowly nodded. He had been listening in on my date again.

“Kid, your sister said to go to bed.” Jared huffed off the couch and loomed over my brother. “Look, there is nothing outside for the hundredth time. See?” Jared stalked over to the back door and opened it, stepping out into the yard.

“Close the door!” I shouted, panicking slightly.

Slamming the door and locking it, Chris grabbed my hand and we peered through the blinds.

Jared was surrounded by the shambling undead. He backed away and tried to run, but they were faster. Chris’s pet zombies had him by the neck and they dragged him to the ground. The beautiful sound of screams and ripping flesh echoed through the night and brought a satisfied smile to my face.

“Thanks Chris. He was really a jerk, you know?” I flipped the blinds shut.

“Yeah, well. I had to feed them, right?” He peered up at me. “You really need to be careful about the uber douche lords you keep bringing home.”

” Yeah. I know.” I sighed. “You wanna watch the rest of Legions of the Undead?”

“Okay. The guys are going to be busy for awhile anyway.” Chris peered out the back window looking dejected.

“Hey. They had to eat. You can play with them tomorrow. Just make sure you put them away before Mom and Dad get home.”

“Yeah.”

“Hey. You want some popcorn?”

“Yeah. Extra butter!”

“You’re so disgusting.” I shuddered, and went into the kitchen to toss a bag in the microwave.

Maybe next week would be better.

~~

Dana Wright has always had a fascination with things that go bump in the night. She is often found playing at local bookstores, trying not to maim herself with crochet hooks or knitting needles, watching monster movies with her husband and furry kids or blogging about books. More commonly, she is chained to her computers, writing like a woman possessed. She was a contributing author to Siren’s Call E-zine in their “Women In Horror” issue in February 2013, a contributing author to the Potatoes Anthology Wonderstruck Anthology, Shifters: A Charity Anthology and the Roms, Bombs and Zoms Anthology due in late 2013 from Evil Girlfriend Media. Dana also reviews music for Muzikreviews.com and has been a contributing writer to Pagan Living, Eternal Haunted Summer and Fabricoh Magazine.

Follow Dana’s reviews:

Twitter: @dana19018

http://danawrightwordscribe.wordpress.com/

http://about.me/dana.wright.wordscribe

Posted on December 24, 2013, in Issue 11: The Day Zombies Ruled the Earth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

