Point Towards Enemy, by Reed Beebe

August 6, 1968

Dear Mom,

Finally made it to Vietnam. I’m OK. I know you don’t approve, but I hope you understand my desire to serve my country. Besides, Jane couldn’t deal with my condition. After the breakup, I needed a change.

The guys kid me. They painted “Point Towards Enemy” on my helmet. My commanding officer is OK about my condition. He lets me go into the jungle alone during the full moon. I’m proud that I’m able to do my part.

Give my love to Dad. And please don’t worry – the Vietcong don’t have silver bullets.

Love, George

~~

After years of hunting monsters and fighting ninjas, globetrotting adventurer Reed Beebe has retired to a quiet Kansas City, Missouri neighborhood to write fiction and poetry.  His stories have been published in The Were-Traveler,Schlock!, and Inner Sins.  

Posted on December 28, 2012, in Issue 6: Big Bad Wolf in a Big Bad Universe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

