Sleeping, by Quinn Smythwood

I wake knowing tonight is the night.

As I prepare myself, I recall every fleeting glimpse of you: through the window that first night; on the streets as we hurried to your destination; in your bedroom, while you lay sleeping.

We took it slow.  I’m simply old fashioned that way.

But I’m ready now.  You’re ready.  I’ve imagined this night since the moment I laid eyes on you and now, excited, I can barely dress myself.  My sleeping beauty, tonight I bring you into my world with a single bright red slash of a kiss.

Tonight, you’ll sleep beside me.

"Tonight, you'll sleep beside me."

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Issue 3: Deadly Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I liked the build up in this. Nicely done.

  2. I love looking for images for the stories in the issues. When I saw this image, I immediately thought of Quinn’s story, which is a nice, subtle take on the vampire story.

Leave a Reply

