The Trick and the Treat, by Helen Howell

Lily tapped on the door to the old Mansion. She clutched Bozo, her clown doll. A monster lives there, the other kids said. That didn’t stop her. She had Bozo to protect her.

The door creaked open.

“Trick or Treat.”

No one appeared. Lilly leaned forward and looked in. Soft hands clasped her throat, she tried to scream and as she struggled, she realised it was Bozo who was choking her. She let him go as he dragged her over the door step.

“Good boy Bozo, you always bring them home to mama in the end.”

The door slammed shut.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Issue 1: Hundred Word Halloween and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I knew there was a reason I never trusted that bad haired, red-nosed buggar.

  2. I try to avoid clowns at all costs. This is the stuff scary movies are made from. Great job!

  3. See, I always knew clowns, even Bozo, we’re bad news. They have always given me the creeps. Great story. I am always amazed at what all you can do with such few words.

  4. See, I always knew clowns, even Bozo, we’re bad news. They always gave me the creeps. If I’m ever drug across a doorstep, it won’t be by a clown…at least, no! It’s not gonna…okay, never say what you are not ever going to do, right? So…see? Clowns just really are creepy to me. And this is a great story. I am always amazed at what you can do with so few words.

  5. Good creepiness with an economy of words, Helen. Well done. And that picture is a perfect match.
    ~jon

  6. Thank you for your great comments, I’m pleased that you liked the feel of the drabble. ^__^

  7. I meant to say thank you all of you!

  8. This drabble totally rocked. Of course, I have a totally “rational” fear of clowns.

  9. Thank you ganymeder, pleased you liked it! ^__^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

